Social Norms in Fashion

From the all lectures and the readings, I find myself thinking about a general idea of what fashion is, and what beauty is? Is fashion a personal life style or is it kind of modern day faith or belief? How the society interweaves the whole concept of the word fashion. For Asian, the concept of “Fashion” originally comes a lot later compared with the west. In the use of Chinese, the imported word “fashion” is translated “Shi-Shang” which is a combination of two words meaning “time” and “style,” which also point out the temporary timing frame that goes along with the concept of fashion.

With considering the words describing fashion, there are terms that being used gives people a sense of the classes’ difference. For example, when we talk about luxury, we often use “hi-end” or “high fashion” to address the exclusive luxury brands. Besides, in Chinese language, we often describe a person who is not trendy as a “low” person. In addition, the word “in trend” suggests there is a group or space that you are considered being in or out, and there is a certain degree that people think “being in” is better than “being out”. With the word “in” and “out”, it also hints that there is a competition that you win if you are in the trend or not. Also referring to the lecture that Dr. Hanna Rose Shell gave, she talked about how she generate the interests on shoddy fabric and how it is be named by the fact that it is made from unwanted recycled clothes and how it is roughly made. The word “shoddy” itself has the original meaning of something inferior. Also in her reading, we can find people in Haiti call the second hand cloths “Sinister” with the original idea of “victim”, and “refugee”, referring to what had been happened to Haiti. Apparently, there are some initial prejudices by how people outside the community reflect their feeling on these charity clothes. All these examples indicate that how we are secretly evaluated by social public.

Not surprisingly, how you look and how you wear probably is the easiest thing that people will notice and have impression on you. As such, there are invisible terms that describe styles like punk, gothic, hippie, and yuppie, and interestingly in certain ways, it also affects a person’s life style. This “you have to live like a hippie to dress like a hippie” kind of thinking is the key power behind the young generation who take their styles incredibly seriously. Having said that, I believe that somehow people in all ages are by all means under the pressure to have a stereotype of behavior and life style.

Social pressures or peer pressures have being discussed as a huge element causing the not only fashion but also social phenomenon during both lectures and recitations. Those pressures that come from society and the moral standard play an important role influencing on one’s personality and it is strongly related to the nations and the culture. The pressures originates from a regional understanding that becomes popular and it eventually grows into the social norm, which everybody follows and regards the ones “not normal” or “marginalized” if they don’t follow. What I find interesting is that the regional culture habits are actually not that regional while it also affects different cultures by media such as printed media, Internet, and word of mouth.

From both Dr. Sharon Lee and Dr. Thuy Linh Tu’s lectures, they all talked about the fact that, in South Korea, having the plastic surgery as a unique social norm, and how Korean people generate the Korean look by majority persuading the same face with their favorite singers or actresses. The impacts of Korean pop culture and plastic surgery is also transnational, and appealing people travel to South Korea to have their plastic surgery with a better quality and cheaper cost stereotype. As an Asian, I trace back to my memories when I was in my childhood or my teenager time. There is probably no way to not to be affected by the life you live in, and the culture that surrounds you. I have no clue how I would feel or image myself if I was born and raised in South Korea. Would I be more open to the plastic surgery in order to alter my look? Especially if all my friends and families encourage you to do so, would I still be able to keep my belief to authenticity?

Another example of the social norm stereotype was brought out by Dr. Thuy Linh Tu in her lecture, she stated that, in Asian aesthetic, people consider being pale white is prettier than being suntanned, and the white skin also gives other people in the same community impressions of upper classes and being well educated. With the idea of “being white is better” became so popular, all kinds of skincare products sprang out. According to the Dr. Tu’s research, skincare products dominate the most of the cosmetic market in Asia. Moreover, she also pointed out how popular people in Asia go to spa and want to make their skin whiter, and there is an unseen contest by going to the spa and have your skin tested. Despite all the commercial marketing purposes behind the test, the numbers or percentages for your skin test unmistakably raise up customers’ conscious for their skin. Dr.Tu also mentioned that the people who work in the spa, who consider themselves as an educator, providing all the information about maintaining your skin.

With all the thoughts I mentioned above. I question myself what is the authority behind all this? I truly believe that there is a certain self-improving motivation in our humanity that always craving for something better. And that also explains how all sorts of actions change the society in the relation with capitalism and politics. People want to have a better look for a better impression. Capital produces advertisements and products according the demanding of the market for a better profit. With the press and media, the trend emerges by the interaction of capital and consumer, and all the trends together become a larger idea of fashion, and the action people persuade fashion leads social pressure. The circulation goes on and on and it contributes culture. Speaking back to the Chinese words combination for fashion in terms of definition that I mentioned in the beginning of the article. I find it is not enough to express the idea only with the time and style, the regional location and the space should also be considered, for the reason that fashion may sounds as the universal term that apply to everybody around the world, but, in the different countries and with different cultures, fashion could have total different facets and meanings.

5 responses to “Social Norms in Fashion

  1. This post really speaks to my mind that reminds me to look at the environment that I live in and the transnational culture consumption that affects us in an invisible way. We are all part of culture and the fact that I fly abroad study in the American is also the factors the changes the world or system. It questions the power that push fashion forward is kind of the result of like massive social pressure. At the same time, it also talked about a little bit uniformity and the social classes. However, I find the topic is too general a little bit.

  2. I like the way you questioned what the resource of all these topics about ‘fashion’ and the details you mentioned like the translation of fashion, the ‘in’ and ‘out’ part. And I also like the part you question if we will think the same way if we are in different country or culture environment. The ‘class’ part is really interesting too. I really like how you put all these things together.
    Looking for the original reason of ‘why we care about fashion’ seems to be the thing we care the most after these lectures. I believe people judge others’ surface in everywhere no matter what kind of environment or culture they are living in. Korea is just an extreme example. The most important thing is to know that ‘beauty’ doesn’t have an exact definition. Learning to appreciate different kinds of beauty is really important too, we have to accept the differences. Personally, I think it’s more important to just tell people ‘stop doing plastic surgery’.
    As a student ‘in the fashion industry’ (I guess), we have the same confusion. How you brought all these things up might not ‘solve’ the problems, but you do help me to be more clear about what we are facing, where they come from and make me thinking about what we could do for it. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  3. Your post brought so many issues to light for me. I recently traveled to LA to visit my sister who works at Neiman Marcus and gets an absurd amount of perks with the job – $2,000 Rag & Bone vouchers (she has no idea of the history of this name), 40% discounts on Fendi bags (she has no idea that they are notorious for using fur in their collections), and constant, and I mean CONSTANT exposure to the newest, coolest, and “best”. I bring up the points in parentheses to emphasize the fact that she does not care about the heritage of brands, their ethics, their quality, etc. For her (I assume), it is all about the label and acquisition of items with high social capital.

    Did I mention that her store is located on Rodeo Drive? So in addition to constant visual stimuli (triggering what I can only assume is endorphins screaming “buy me and you will be happier!”), there is competition to have the most and the best.

    Though I decided it was best not to bring these issues to light with her (knowing her, this would only cause a fight…and hey, was I not also an over-consumer when I first started in the fashion industry? Is she not just under-educated about the reasons behind her purchases?), I came back from LA determined to play the devil’s advocate in my own life. I decided for six months to only purchase items that had been previously owned, or created from fabric that were by-products of other collections’ lines. This means that if I am flipping through the pages of Elle and I see, for example, an Equipment blouse that I want, I can’t just go out and buy it (though, let’s be real, I can’t be spending that on a blouse anyways)…I have to get creative.

    In conducting this experiment, I have realized it is sustainable not only in the fact I am seeking clothing that has already been consumed by another, but I am also giving myself time to truly consider a purchase. Where I once was able to walk into Intermix, see something I liked, and purchase it on the spot having considered it for only a moment or two, I now have to stew on that item. This goes something like this: I see the item and I want it, then I start my eBay quest, then I see what is out there…nothing. So in a few days, I check back, see nothing. After a few more days, I realize, what do I really need with that item any how? So, not only am I not buying new and wasteful garments (that spend more time in my closet than on my person), but I am also consuming FAR less.

    When and if I have succeeded at the hunt (it has happened once – meaning I have purchased one item in two months), I have created an emotional attachment to that garment, creating an even more sustainable act of consumption, as now I am going to take better care of that garment and use it longer.

    The anxiety to achieve the best and most that I saw exhibited with my sister is like the anxiety we have discussed with beauty ideals. There is this pressure to conform…to be the best we can and to look the best we can be at any cost. This is was highlighted regarding plastic surgery to look like K-Pop stars. I see my sister’s consumption patterns and it makes me a little sad. I like to attribute it to her lack of education in the fashion industry, especially sustainable issues, but ultimately, is it not caused by anxiety or lack of self esteem? For her, a quick fix to emptiness is a new purchase. It’s like a Band-Aid. Instead of dealing with her insecurities, she buys something new, and when that high wears off, it will be onto the next purchase. To those who feel the constant pressure to conform (and I truly say this without judgement) and achieve physical perfection, does it really make you happier in the end? This issue was highlighted in ‘Girl Model’ when Nadya says innocently that for her, inner beauty and the soul is the truest beauty. I suppose that is easier said than done.

    What I have come to realize in my personal challenge is that I am no less happy in not being able to make a purchase on a whim, but I am in fact, more fulfilled.

  4. There is always a personal aspect for fashion. Everyone has his/her own taste of what looks good for him/herself. However, the social perspective can never be neglected. After all, it is everything around us that shaped our opinion on beauty: parents, close friends, magazines, TV, etc. are all telling us how to look more fabulous in their own way. Furthermore, there are dressing codes to be considered for different social occasions. One can never dress in T-shirts and jeans to a black tie occasion, no matter how good it looks; similarly, suits and ties are never welcomed for a pool party. So, when a fashion designer tries to sell a new concept to the public, he/she need not only to make it look desirable, but also to persuade the potential costumers that its cool, and will be well received by their peers.

  5. Pingback: What Are The Meaningful Elements Of Real Style? -·

Leave a comment